Xanthan-Free Zone

Real food, incidentally gluten-free.

Dirk Flinthart’s Leatherwood Honey Icecream

During a recent trip to Tasmania, I caught up with my old friend Dirk Flinthart, writer and feeder-of-people extraordinaire. Among the many delights which I was required to consume was this delicious honey icecream.
When I later made this for my family for Xmas I did not have leatherwood honey but it was still great with the organic rainforest honey my parents had. Some of the New Zealand honeys might also be fantastic, but I wouldn’t hesitate to just use whatever is local.
Because it was Xmas, we at this mostly with mangoes, but my brother commented that it had a Middle Eastern vibe and could be great with figs or pistachios.
As a last note, I would mention that this recipe is very rich, and I would be interested to try a slightly lighter version substituting milk for some of the cream. But I’ll leave those experiments up to you.
You will need an icecream machine, or some special skills which I don’t have, for this recipe, and you will need a bit of chilling time, so start in the morning or the night before.

Ingredients:
250ml marscapone cream cheese
250ml cream
2-3 tbsp leatherwood honey (or your favourite/local honey)
2 eggs
1 dessert spoon maize cornflour
1 tsp vanilla essence or contents of a vanilla pod

Whisk all ingredients together. Warm in a small saucepan, stirring carefully, until it just starts to thicken. Take off the stove and allow to cool. (You can sit the saucepan in a sink of cold water if you need to hurry this part). At this point you can taste it and see if you’ve added enough honey, and also to increase the anticipation. Then refrigerate until cold, then churn in your icecream machine. This was the first time I’ve used one of these, and i just eyeballed it until it looked pretty thick, which was about 30 minutes. Then transfer to a container and keep in the freezer until 10 minutes before serving.
Enjoy!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

